Mekong-Ganga Co-operation and India's Act East Policy
Anju Swami and Manisha Swami
  • ISBN : 9788177084795
  • year : 2019
  • language : English
  • binding : Hardbound
$ 35.00
(Free Shipping Charges)
Contents: 1. Introduction. 2. Mekong-Ganga Cooperation (MGC): profiles of member countries. 3. India-Cambodia relations. 4. India-Laos relations. 5. India-Vietnam relations. 6. India-Myanmar relations. 7. India-Thailand relations. 8. Ministerial meetings of Mekong-Ganga Co-operation. 9. Prospects and challenges. Appendix 1: Mekong River. Appendix 2: Broad Contours of India’s Foreign Policy since 1947. References/Websites. Index. The Look East Policy which India unveiled in 1991 has now been superseded by Act East Policy which has ASEAN centrality as its core. The Mekong-Ganga Co-operation (MGC) is an initiative by six countries: India and five ASEAN countries, namely Cambodia, Laos, Vietnam, Myanmar, and Thailand for co-operation in tourism, culture, education, and transport and communications. It was launched in 2000 at Vientiane, Laos. Both the Mekong and Ganga are civilizational rivers, and the MGC initiative aims to facilitate closer contacts among the people inhabiting these two major river basins. The MGC is also indicative of the cultural and commercial linkages among the member countries of the MGC down the centuries. Economic ties between India and Mekong countries have been expanding rapidly. Development co-operation has facilitated the expansion of economic and cultural relations. MGC has scored impressive performance in breaking barriers through regional connectivity. Efforts have been made to strengthen the cultural and commercial relations. MGC offers immense trade and investment opportunities. The book provides a vivid account of the historical and contemporary relationship of India with member countries of MGC. It gives details of the Nine Ministerial Meetings of MGC held so far and various programmes of action to promote the stated objectives of this regional initiative.